Skip to main content

Table 1 The nomenclature and classification used here for prokaryotes (=Bacteria)

From: Rooting the tree of life by transition analyses

    Example genus
NEGIBACTERIA (subkingdom)  
  Chlorobacteria* Chloroflexi; green non-sulphur Chloroflexus
  Hadobacteria Deinococcus/Thermus group Thermus
  Cyanobacteria   Nostoc
  Spirochaetae Spirochaetes Treponema
     Chlorobea Chlorobi Chlorobium
     Flavobacteria CFB group + Fibrobacteres Cytophaga
     Rhodobacteria α-, β-, γ-proteobacteria Escherichia
     Thiobacteria δ-, ε-proteobacteria + Aquificales Helicobacter
     Geobacteria Deferribacteres + Acidobacteria + Geovibrio
  Planctobacteria Planctomycetes + Chlamydiales + Pirellula
  Selenobacteria   Sporomusa
  Fusobacteria   Fusobacterium
  Togobacteria Thermotogales Thermotoga
UNIBACTERIA (subkingdom)    
  Endobacteria low-GC Gram positives (incl. Mollicutes) Bacillus
  Actinobacteria high-GC Gram positives (e.g. Actinomycetales) Streptomyces
  Euryarchaeota euryarchaeotes (e.g. methanogens) Halobacterium
  Crenarchaeota crenarchaeotes Sulfolobus
  1. * The 10 taxa shown in bold are ranked as phyla. A more detailed classification is given later in the paper, when I explain the small improvements over the previous system [1].
  2. In addition to the taxa listed, three informal names are used for the following higher groups:
  3. glycobacteria (a paraphyletic grade) = Cyanobacteria + Eurybacteria + Gracilicutes
  4. proteates (a clade) = Actinomycetales + Archaebacteria + Eukaryota
  5. neomura (a clade) = Archaebacteria + Eukaryota